Our Areas

Spanning more than 3,000 square miles,the SdCNHA includes three counties and many protected lands.

SdCNHA area map

Alamosa County: home to many natural resources accessible to visitors.  Blanca Peak, at 14,345 ft, towers over the Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve.

Conejos County: offers heritage tourists experiences such as a visit to the oldest parish in Colorado and a scenic ride on the historic Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Railroad. Public lands make up two-thirds of the county’s area.

Costilla County: rich in Hispanic culture and traditions, and offers many ‘firsts’. It includes the oldest town in Colorado and the state’s first water right.

Protected Lands:These lands include the Monte Vista National Wildlife Refuge, the Baca National Wildlife Refuge, the Alamosa National Wildlife Refuge, San Luis State Park and the Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve.